Always up for a challenge and learning something new :)

Phase 2: Digital Narrative Games

Background research on: long-distance relationships with family and friends.

As I was brainstorming ideas for what my game could be about I thought of one of the things that have been ongoing in my life and that I only recently realized how much it impacts me. Which is my long distance relationship with 2 of my best friends and my sister who has been living abroad for almost 6 years now.

I realized how much this can affect a person psychologically and that it can be improved based on research. Not only is the change and transitions in life quite impactful on a person’s well-being but the relationships in it play a crucial role in how stable your mood and well-being might be. Especially for the elder when they have more free time and their work life decreases such as mothers and fathers.

I have seen this happen on a day to day basis with my family especially my mother and I when change has happened and my sister moved abroad. Therefore, I believe my aim of this game would be to make people aware of how maintaining long distance relationships is crucial and it is a problem many face that are sometimes unaware of. For instance, I only realized recently that I have been in denial for quite some time that my sister does not live near me anymore therefore, I would sometimes avoid her in order to avoid the fact she is not here so once I see her it would seem normal.

Although I opened up my eyes and realized that this is not the correct and healthy way to deal with the situation. Talking about our feelings and how we miss a person is fine. It does not define any type of weakness. Also, that many others are in the same situation and can relate therefore, talking to them would also help.

My aim then would be to increase the awareness of this topic specifically in Egypt and to research on the different psychological ways to manage long-distance relationships.

Here are some sources that have helped me to decide whether I will be making this game:

Weiner, A. S., & Hannum, J. W. (2012). Differences in the quantity of social support between geographically close and long-distance friendships. Journal of Social and Personal Relationships, 30(5), 662–672. https://doi.org/10.1177/0265407512465997

The psychology of Long Distance Relationships. Practical Psychology. (2021, October 23). Retrieved March 28, 2022, from practicalpie.com/the-psychology-of-long-distance-relationships/#:~:text=Depending%20on%20various%20factors%2C%20long,the%20better%20the%20relationship%20functions.

Johnson, A. J. (2001). Examining the maintenance of friendships: Are there differences between geographically close and long‐distance friends? Communication Quarterly, 49(4), 424–435. https://doi.org/10.1080/01463370109385639

Girdwain, A. (2021, November 2). Your long-distance friendship relies on 4 key factors. Women’s Health. Retrieved March 28, 2022, from https://www.womenshealthmag.com/relationships/a32685492/long-distance-friendship/

I will be adding a survey and some interviews I made as soon as possible once I get them done.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started